My Dad, my Hero!

Growing up, people would always tell me that I look like my dad. I would scream with disagreement and would insist that I look like my mom. As we celebrate his 75th birthday, I look at my dad in awe. I admire his resilience, his faith, his love for family and his diligence.

My dad is eldest son, in a pack of nine. He always played the role of the big brother who had bigger responsibilities compared to all his siblings. Based from all the stories I heard about my dad, he is known for his diligence. He was a fisherman at a young age, thus, he’s a good swimmer! He also sold cigarettes and candies in buses headed to Tagaytay. He worked hard to help the family.

My Daddy is a good daddy! 🙂 He made sure that we have everything we needed and wanted. We went to the best schools and we were able to do what we wanted. He may be stern at times, but he knows when to listen and let things go. All the material stuff we get to enjoy are all because of my dad’s diligence. He worked really hard and made sure that we enjoy life and not worry if we still have money for tomorrow. He taught us the value of money and he was a good example of someone who is prudent. He is a good role model.

My dad is also a true servant of God. He offered his entire life to the Lord. He was a choir member and leader during his younger years. Also, he is always ready to defend our church. He is a man of his word and a man of the Lord. I believe that all of the blessings we received, his health are all products of his strong connection to the Lord. I strongly believe that God bestowed my dad with abundant blessings.

Looking back on how I scream when they say I look like my dad makes me laugh, come to think of I am 1/2 him. Half of me is my dad and that would always play a role in who I am as a person. Sometimes I wonder if I make him proud, because I feel like I don’t deserve him. However, that makes me more thankful because I have him. I am extremely proud of my dad! He is the perfect example of someone who never stopped until he got what he wanted. A man who is very simple and who is happy just being with his family.

I love you daddy.
You will always be my hero.

Leave a Reply

